USA Cheer’s Inaugural board meeting at the NCA Headquarters in Dallas, Texas. From front to back Emily Burster, Carolyn Shoemaker, Jeff Webb, Bill Seely, Dawn Calitri, T. Lynn Williamson, Karen Halterman, Mike Burgess, Aaron Flaker, Rhonda Blanford Green, Jim Chadwick, David McDowell and Jim Lord.


General Powers.  The affairs of USA Cheer are governed and conducted by a Board of Directors.  The Board of Directors have primary responsibility for the programs of USA Cheer by determining policy and exercising jurisdiction related thereto, and approving actions of any committees it appoints to directly administer or implement these programs.


The Board Make-up. The Board consists of fifteen individuals. Members of the Board may consist of both males and females, and shall be selected without discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, age, sex, or national origin.


Election. The following organizations are entitled to elect the number of members of the Board of Directors set forth below:

Active Athletes Assembly – 3 Directors
US All Star Federation (USASF) – 3 Directors
National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) – 1 Director
American Association of Cheer Coaches and Administrators (AACCA) – 3 Directors
National Alliance for School Cheerleading (NASC) – 4 Directors
NCAA or Significant Collegiate Athletic Organization – 1 Director


Current Board of Directors and Officers


Bill Seely:  President of USA Cheer (NASC Representative)

  • Executive Director of Varsity Brands
  • Founding Board Member of USASF
  • Former Graduate and National Champion of George Mason University

Kim Kay: Vice President of USA Cheer (NASC Representative)

  • President and CEO of Champion Cheerleading
Dan Kessler: Vice President of USA Cheer
  • Co-Founder of JAM Brands
  • Former Cheerleader at the University of Louisville
Ronnie Carter: Executive Director of USA Cheer
  • Former Executive Director of TSSAA
  • Served as President of NFHS

Rhonda Blanford Green:  Secretary/Treasurer of USA Cheer (NFHS Representative)

  • Assistant Director of Louisiana High School Athletic Association
  • Former Assistant Commissioner of the Colorado High School Activities Association  and Former Executive Director of the Nebraska School Activities Association
  • Graduate of University of Wyoming; 12 time All American in indoor and outdoor track, NCAA Champion in 100 HH, Undefeated in Big 8 for entire college career, broke the World Record in the Shuttle Hurdle Relay


Jim Chadwick

  • President of USASF and IASF
  • Former Cheerleader for the University of Utah

Justin Carrier:

  • USASF Board of Directors
  • Vice President of NCA
  • Vice President of Varsity All Star
  • Coaching Staff for 2011 Team USA Coed


Jim Lord

  • Executive Director of AACCA
  • Former Director of Curriculum for UCA
  • National and International Speaker on Cheerleading Safety
 T. Lynn Williamson
  • Senior Associate General Counsel University of Kentucky
  • 30 Year Spirit Advisor for University of Kentucky
 Carolyn Shoemaker
  • President Florida Cheer Coaches Association
  • Cheerleading Coach and Advisor for Sebring High School
  • AACCA Safety Certifier and Board Member
Mike Burgess
  • President United Spirit Association (USA)
  • Vice President of USASF
Buffy Duhon
  • Senior Vice President and General Manager – NCA & NDA
  • President NASC
  • Former cheerleader and dancer at the University of Florida

Active Athletes:

Savanna Silbey:  Executive Committee Representative for Active Athletes

  • Cheer Coach for the US National All Girl Team
  • Current Coach for the University of Nevada Las Vegas
  • Former Head Coach at Hawaii Pacific University
  • Former Member of the US National All Girl Cheer Team

Chelsey Kannan:

  • Cheered at Hawaii Pacific University
  • Part of Team USA’s All Girl Team from 2010-2012
  • Universal Cheerleaders Association Instructor

Ben Schreiber:

  • Currently the Head Coach at The Ohio State University Spirit Squad
  • Former Head Coach at the University of Delaware
  • Former Member of the US National Coed Cheer Team