The USA Cheer Safety Council was formed to raise the awareness of cheerleading safety and education, address misconceptions about injuries, and provide data to ensure proper training of athletes.

The USA Cheer Safety Council is made up of representatives from all segments and disciplines of cheer, including the medical community, spirit industry leaders, biomechanics experts, administrators, coaches, athletes, and parents.

USA Cheer Safety Council


Dawn Comstock, PhD
Gerald George, PhD
Dr. Jeff Dugas, M.D.
Dr. Paul Morin, M.D.
Dr. Shane Miller, M.D.
Karen Lew, MEd, ATC, LAT


Sherry Cooney
Jomo Thompson
Linda Gooch
Roger Schonder


Cayce Brasel
Sarah Coggins
Tucker Hunter
Ryan Martin
Caity Hinshaw
Kaysie Hanle
Amanda Robertson

Industry Expert

Gwen Holtsclaw
Jim Lord
Steve Wedge
Shane Womack


Page Johnson
Melissa Jablonski


Mark Smith