The National Safety Council was formed to raise awareness of cheerleading safety and education, address misconceptions about injuries, and provide data to ensure proper training of athletes. It is made up of representatives from the medical community, biomechanical experts, and representatives from the athletes and coaches assemblies.

USA Cheer Safety Council


Dawn Comstock, PhD
Gerald George, PhD
Dr. Jeff Dugas, M.D.
Dr. Paul Morin, M.D.
Dr. Shane Miller, M.D.
Karen Lew Feirman, DHSc, ATC
Michael Higgins, PhD, ATC, CSCS
Summer Ott, PhD
Ryan “Pete” Manely, DHSc, ATC